CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Five Guarantees and Three Points of Interest

2005-07-26� � 5:03 p.m.
Last night was my real estate class� final exam.

Before the test this girl in my class was quizzing me because she found it amusing that I knew everything she asked.

So she says, "What's a warranty deed?" And I replied,

"It's the deed that provides the most protection for the buyer. It contains five guarantees. The first is siesin, meaning that the current owner is the title holder as far as he or she knows. The second is against encumbrances not already listed on the deed. (When it's just these two guarantees, it's called a special warranty deed.) The there's the right to quiet enjoyment, where the current owner says that there won't be any claims against the property once it's handed over. (If all three of these were together, it would be an Illinois Bargain and Sale deed. However, if it's not in Illinois, a Bargain and Sale deed would merely IMPLY siesin.) Then there's the guarantee that I never remember the name of but that means that the owner will do whatever needs to be done to get you the title. And the final guarantee is that they'll warranty the deed forever."

That's when I realized that I really know this stuff and that the test wasn't going to be an issue.

In a mere 80 minutes I finished 150 questions and handed it in for grading. Two minutes later my teacher was shaking my hand, congratulating me on a job well done, and handing over a sealed paper starting that I officially graduated from his class.

Whee!

Now all I have left is to take the state licensing exam and find a broker to sponsor me. I at least have the most time consuming and difficult part all over with. Whee!

There�s not much else to report right now, as my past several days were in preparation for last night. So I leave you with three points of interest where some participation would be nice:

(1)

The lovely and talented Packs a Wallop is now living in Peru, spending her days making the lives of children better. Read this entry for some heart-breaking news on a recent event.

The good news, however, is that you can do something to help. In even better news, there�s corporate money-matching that will double any money you have to spare.

(2)

Another donation-worthy cause is for my friend Liz, who is raising money by running the Hawaii marathon through the National AIDs Marathon Training Program. She�s pledged to raise $3400 over the next few months for AIDs. Her full info page on this is here.

This Saturday I�m helping host a $15 all-you-can-drink party at my friend Happy�s house. If you are in Chicagoland and haven�t received an evite but want to be included in the fun, please email me so I can get you added to the official count.

(3)

I started a fantasy football league a couple weeks ago, and I need five more players to round out the second division. If you�re even remotely interested, let me know.

I don�t know anything about football really, but Benito suggested that I start a league of friends to try to learn how to play fantasy football.

I think this was actually just a ploy to not have me ask to join his league, since having your girlfriend name her team The Hello Kitty Avengers with a logo of a hot pink football helmet with the words �I Feel Pretty� on the side is certain to get some ribbing from the boys.

Anyway, so now I have an entire league (named The Super Hambones) to control and five open team spots. So do email me for your free team! I want a league that�s at least fun to be in. Many thanks to Crowhihs and Xeran, who already signed up!�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com