CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The One Where I Tell You About My Year

2003-10-15� � 10:32 a.m.
Good morning. Now get yourself over to Crowhihs�s diary to wish her a happy birthday. Then visit D-land Birthdays and wish everyone else a happy day!

I awoke this morning to a phone call from my dear ol� dad, wishing me a happy birthday. Since then I�ve either gotten messages, phone calls, or emails from a past professor, my hooker-slut Nicolle, the oh-so-sweet Amber, #34, my second-line manager, and Matthew. And, really, the guestbook signings have been very nice. Y�all know how to make a girl feel special when the only thing she�s done is survive a measly 24 years.

I recognize that in itself is an accomplishment, so allow me to outline the year for you.

My Year in Review

October
I rang in my birthday with free Mexican martinis with my Hooker-Slut. The first place cut me off, so we went to the next restaurant chain to get more free ones! Whee! One word that only she will understand that will undoubtedly bring laughter over the cubical walls at Dell: Rrrrrrrrotellllllllllooooo!

November
I flew to Chicago for Thanksgiving, and it cemented my thoughts that I should live there. I announced this decision, and nobody believed I would actually leave.

December
I got laid off, and I took off to New York. I got to see a lot of family I hadn�t seen in years, and I saw actual New York stuff for the first time. I was even lucky enough to have a white Xmas.

January
I rang in the new year on Times Square, and I returned to Texas a few days later. I started packing up my apartment, and people began to believe that I was actually leaving.

February
I made it into Chicago on February 1st, and my friends were gone soon after the apartment was unloaded. I was in Chicago, and it was cold. I started looking for the perfect job, and I started discovering what I hoped was the perfect city. The Adventures of ChicagoJo was launched.

March
Lots and lots of rollerblading and job searching. I met some guys from Wisconsin -- #34 being one of them.

April
Rollerblading and job searching continue. I met Brian and Lorinda in a bar one drunken night, and we�ve been inseparable since. I drunk-dialed my parents because it sounded like a funny idea at the time. Since then, Maa�s been concerned that I drink too much.

May
More friends. More rollerblading. More job searching.

June
The job search picks up, and I�m in the final rounds as a marketing manager for a large law firm, a technical writer for a testing solutions company, and a marketing monkey for a different testing solutions company when my preferred job comes along. I accept, and I happily start my favorite job ever.

July
Paw Paw died unexpectedly, and I made a trip to Houston. I got to touch on my sister�s belly a mere few weeks before Branden James Keena arrived. On July 28th I printed out a picture of Maa holding a round-faced baby boy, and I�ve carried it since then.

August
I flew to Texas and met the beautiful Branden. Babies really are prettier, smarter, funnier, and that much more wonderful when you�re related to them. I decide that I want ten of them. I also got to visit my slutty friends in Austin, and I had a really hot make-out session from an unlikely source.

September
I visited San Diego and promptly decided that I would sell all of my furniture, buy a Jeep and a hot pink surfboard, and take the kitties on a cross-country trip to live in Ocean Beach. The name may or may not change to SanDiegoJo, but I *have* to live there.

October
The weather is crisping wonderfully. Work is going very well. I look forward to the mums blooming in all of the street planters. I love my friends. I love my life. Things don�t get much better than this.

So that�s my year in review. I have no complaints. I have no regrets. We�ll see what next year throws at me -- whether it flings poo like a monkey or throws flowers in my path, I�m ready for it.

P.S. Dear Cubbies -- Can we please have a win tonight? That would make for a great birthday. Thank you.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com