CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

How Many Minutes?

2004-07-16� � 2:40 p.m.
Fifty-seven minutes until I go home -- whee!

Where to begin?


Last night I was once again fighting the pain from the supposedly pulling a muscle in my chest. It hurts the same as the pleurisy, so I took some pain meds.

I had previously taken these pain meds on one of my trips to Dallas in October. I was happily sleeping when someone crawled into bed with me. Not wanting to get my butt munched by that butt-munch, I rolled off the bed and onto the floor.

My back shouted at me for the next two days. And then I found she who gave me life (my mom -- this is not what I call my prescription drug dealer), she hooked me up with a couple muscle relaxers that knocked me on my ass. They knocked me on my ass, but the pain was g-o-n-e!

Take note: We here at The Adventures of ChicagoJo do not condone drug use. If you are in pain, you should see a doctor. But if you�re like me, hate doctors, don�t listen to safety instructions, have a good grip on what�s wrong, and have the equipment to self-medicate, I�m not gonna stop you. Just be smart about it.

So I took the muscle relaxer and an anti-inflammatory pill, washed them down with the low-cal OJ, and took a shower.

The last (and first) time I took these, I was a jiggly mess of pain-free jelly within a couple hours. I called my parents no fewer than six times in a 20 minute span, forgot my food at the food court, lost my glasses, and tried to board a plane to Buffalo, but I wasn�t feeling a thing.

However, despite the shower giving me plenty of time to metabolize the pain-blocking meds, there was no love.

Needless to say, I didn�t sleep well. And I woke up cranky. And it�s not lead to a happy day at work.

Forty-three minutes and counting.


And by special request:

Mean Things I Have to Say About Benito

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

[crickets chirping]

Hmm, okay�


Forty-two minutes and counting.

I made another Mary Kay sales last night. Each time I get a box of goodies, I give my door lady a sample. The other day I gave her a booklet to look through since she was bored at work, and she placed a $20 order with me yesterday.

However, when I told her she would get 15% off for being a first-time customer, she ordered another $28 worth of stuff.

Yay for the promotions!

If you�re on my Mary Kay mailing list, you�ll get an email soon. If you want to be on it, just email me your mailing info, and I�ll add you to the fun.


Thirty-nine minutes left.

Oh wait. I have to pee.


Thirty-two minutes left.

No, I didn�t poop. I just took my time and checked myself out in the mirror.

Fashionista report: Knee-length grey skirt, nicely fitted. V-neck black stretchy shirt, also nicely fitted. Against-the-dress-code-but-I�m-gonna-keep-wearing-them-until-someone-tells-me-otherwise black strappy sandals with a two-inch heel.

My eye shadow has gone a bit crazy today. I don�t know what was up with my heavy hand this a.m.

And -- ekk! -- I have my first (semi)zit that I�ve had in the past few weeks. I say (semi)zit because it�s one of those white bumps rather than a full-out red skin infection. This, I am fine with.


Twenty-nine minutes left.

I recently introduced someone I know to my blog. I realize that if you just pick right up in the middle, things are a bit muddled. And if you read me on a crappy day, you�re likely to think that I suck.

Have no fear new reader. I do not suck. I have a nice favorites list going to prove otherwise.


Twenty-six minutes left.

Am I the only one who reads the comments people leave about me in their favorites section?

And I�m always like, �Awww!� when I read them. When people choose one funny line I�ve written and post that next to my name, I usually wonder what made them choose that particular line.

I used to write things about people next to their names, but I stopped doing that. I keep it clean and simple, knowing that I�d end up rewriting stuff every other day to match how I felt about that person at that particular moment.

Perhaps I just have comment shyness.

But really, my all-time favorite comment about me left by someone else is this one:

this girls diary is sooo good.i dont even know her but she makes her diary so interesting anyone can read it and not get bored

I think that about sums it up.


Twenty minutes to close the shop up and respond to some emails.

Have a great weekend! �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com