CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

This Ain't Yo Mama's April Fool's

2004-04-01� � 8:22 p.m.
I blew my wad six month ago when I preyed on the unsuspecting. It resulted in some humorous responses, including Crowhihs calling me at work to ask what had gotten into me. And although my readership has increased since then and some would likely fall for my lame-wad April Fool�s Day humor, it would be enough to make the long-timers roll their eyes.

You know me, all right.

(Although many who actually do know me [I�m especially looking at you, Maa and Dad] fell for October�s trick, including slight statements like, �I thought [guy who the story was *very* loosely based off of] lived in [state name], not Maine,� �I thought you were dating an actuary from Lincoln Park,� and �What about your fake Internet boyfriends?� All I established was that my friends and family aren�t big into details.)

I tried to come up with something good for today to no avail. However, I successfully helped others revise their pranks so they were more believable. One friend�s original version was that he had gotten one of his temporary workers pregnant and would be leaving for South America on Sunday to do the honorable marriage thing -- yadda, yadda. And although his temporary workers do predominantly hail from South America, this story screamed APRIL FOOL�S after his introductory sentence.

The final version included a link to a specific woman on Indian dating service and how her family would be sending two cows and a goat to Austin as official word that her family accepted the marriage. Although this may seem a bit much in my summary, the actual emailed story flows nicely and leaves little hint that it�s indeed a pseudo-story.

This one, I�m proud of. Stories of pregnancy-induced dermitis, I�m also proud of. Stories of �oh wait, I actually did get married� or �hey guys, I�m pregnant� are not to be proud of.

(As for Weetabix, I believe it. If I had big news, I�d wait until April 1st to announce it. For instance, when I do decide to settle down and make an honest man of he I shag, we�ll get hitched on this day. If nothing else, maybe some will hesitate in sending back their RSVP cards and cut the cost on my chicken or beef [or tofu] expenses.)

I considered making several lists with three items in each and having readers guess which of the three items in each list was a lie. However, I could come up with very few surprising points about me that would be good enough to throw you off or not obviously be the fake items. I also realized that I�d likely have to reveal the answers, and a lot of stuff is too personal to include on this site.

So yeah. No April Fool�s joke entry. Maybe next year I�ll have some good scoop for ya. Till then, enjoy what�s left of your Thursday.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com