CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Stevie Wonder Rocks

2004-03-02� � 6:01 p.m.
The other day I walked to the Washington red line stop and the regular subway performer wasn't there. Usually there's an old lady with a heavily lined face who plays the violin while tap dancing. In her place was a young man with a guitar and an amazing voice.

I expected the regular Beatles fare, but he surprised me with quite the rendition of My Cherie Amor.

Holy cow -- I completely forgot that Stevie Wonder existed, and for a moment the scene in High Fidelity came back to me. Prior to watching this movie, I had no clue to any of the cool songs. Can we forgive him for his latter day musical sins when he was such a genius with previous work?

I think so.

It�s much like Michael Jackson. Yeah, he's a freak to the highest degree, but he was fucking revolutionary back in the day. From the songs, to the fashion, to the performances, to the music videos, everything the man did was golden. Don't pretend like you never tried to moonwalk. Shit, I'm still trying.

Enough about the freak. This entry is about the coolness that is Stevie Wonder prior to the puketastic I Just Called to Say I Love You.

So I was thinking about my trip moving to Chicago and how I ganked my friend's Stevie Wonder mix CD and jammed the entire 16 hours that was my driving shift (my friend who rode in my car was a sleepy bastard).

How did I forget that this man existed?!

Anyway, after shaking my head at my musical retardedness, I checked my mail and got three mix CDs from my box-o'-shit promotion.

And wouldn't ya know? Each CD has a Stevie Wonder song.

Instant karma. Gotta love it.



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com