CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The Little Sushis were not Happy Sushis

2005-02-02� � 11:34 a.m.
What do you think of people who go out to eat by themselves?

That they�re lonely? That they don�t have anything else to do that evening? That they would heartily accept if you were to invite them over since being alone at a table and eating by one�s self is just sad, sad, sad?

Last night I went out for some sushi by myself. I read about this new restaurant on the north side opened by a known sushi chef. I was looking for someplace new to take Benito one of these weekends, and this one raised my curiosity.

After my chiropractor appointment (only three left before I abandon it), I walked to Clark Street, thinking that I was at a different address location than I was. I called my best friend in DFW for instructions to the restaurant via Metromix, only to find that I was 10 blocks away.

She stayed on the phone with me so she could hang up and call the Chicago police with my location if I were to be mugged during my 1.25 mile walk.

I did a quick walk-by of the restaurant before making any decisions. The place was decorated simply, but it looked clean. The sushi bar was laid out nicely, and they guys making it looked like they knew what they were doing. Without much hesitation, I went in.

One other man was sitting by himself, reading a paper while chomping on various rolls. My opinion when one is reading or writing while munching by himself is that it�s either an excuse to not actually feel alone while being alone or that he needs to cram in as much study time as possible.

Obviously, it�s usually the former, as those affected by the latter are generally found in student unions, bookstores, or coffee shops, eating a sandwich or burrito with books spread across the table.

I entered, claimed a table, and a couple with a bottle of white wine came in immediately afterward. The waitress approached them first, as I was still fiddling with my coat and backpack, getting situated at the table.

I half considered being the latter half of what I described above, as I�m still studying for that blasted class. However, sushi is not study-friendly what with using chopsticks and mixing the soy sauce and wasabi paste.

Sushi should be enjoyed, not just ingested! Study food this is not!

My backpack remained closed.

The couple who entered behind me had never had sushi before. They got a plate of the chef�s choice of sampler rolls, agreeing to his choice of spicy stuff too. They tentatively tasted the chef�s treats, agreeing that sushi was indeed good and that another plate should be brought out.

Soon after placing my order for some fried tofu and two types of rolls, I settled back with a cup of hot tea and a glass of water.

Two men entered soon afterward, saying that a third was on his way. Two minutes later -- I assume after parking their car -- he showed up. They ordered a smorgasbord of rolls, salads, and soups. I guess I did too since I ended up with two types of rolls, an appetizer, miso soup, and hot tea, but seeing that for three filled the entire table. Mine was just two plates and a small bowl. No big deal.

Throughout the night, their conversations were animated and loud, but I couldn�t pick up on anything they said since they were on the opposite side of the restaurant.

The man who was by himself ate and ate and ate. I admit that I�m this way with sushi too, but even I have my limit. The waitress stopped by him three times while I was there, each time bringing another roll, asking if he was full yet.

I giggled at the memory of the Simpson�s episode where Homer got banned from an all-you-can-eat restaurant, remembering the sushi all-you-can-eat I ate this past weekend where they served complimentary green bean tempura and miso soup appetizers with hopes to fill you some before starting into their unlimited number of sushis.

In addition to the limited people watching opportunities, the food was merely so-so. The fried tofu appetizer came out long after my sushi rolls arrived, unpressed (therefore slimy and without texture) and floating in too much sauce. One sushi request ended up being an unimpressive lettuce wrap that was packed with too much stuff and kept spilling out. The veggie rolls are as good as sushi normally is, so no complaints there. However, the man doing all the rolling had a habit of clapping his hands together at random times as he was working. I jumped each time.

If I�m going out to eat alone, I�m there for the food. No more north side sushi place for me. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com