CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

This Weekend -- What a Nice One It Was

2004-04-19� � 12:56 p.m.
I took a bunch of time off on Thursday to run some errands during the day. Namely, I got my taxes done and replaced my cell phone. (Remember, if I have reason to have your phone number, email it to me or leave me a message on my voicemail.)

Taxes turned out well with a hefty refund from being taxed in one bracket but only making half of that money from only working half a year. This worked out fine, as I use tax refunds as instant savings account boosters. No complaints from me. It's like Christmas when the refund comes in. Well, maybe I'm a little off on this. It's only like Christmas if your holiday involves putting money into your bank account and not doing anything with it.

Yeah, so not like Christmas at all.

On Friday I had to make up for my non-working on Thursday, so I stayed until 5:15. This may not seem late to you, but I'm usually outta there from 3:45 to 4:15, getting a quick start to the weekend. This usually involves doing all of my laundry before people with nothing to do on a Friday night come home and use all of the good machines.

Despite the growing mountain in my bedroom, I just stuck around the house and cleaned up in there. I got everything back to normal and then noticed the time. I quickly got ready and found out that my black sandals have gone AWOL. I checked under, around, behind, and within everything I owned, but they're nowhere to be found. Argh.

So I made my short black skirt and little top into a super-sexy outfit with a pair of slip-on heels. Benito's one lucky man based on the sole reason that he gets to show up with me. He he. (And me, likewise, of course.)

He read about this hip new vegetarian restaurant, so we drove to check it out. I was in charge of remembering the address. My bad. We walked a little bit and found it by chance since there was no sign advertising that it was where it was. Come to find out, it was reservations only. However, between my leg-showing and his intentional-looking grown-out facial hair, I think we tricked them into thinking we were hip enough to eat there without a reservation.

All. Vegetarian. Tapas.

All. Really. Good.

We hung out for the rest of the night, and it was a good time as always.

On Saturday I went to a Wrigley bar to watch the Cubs game on TV with some girlfriends. I finally got a hold of Bethany, but her cell phone battery's death killed our chances of meeting up. I went into the bar I thought she said she'd be at, but there was no way I'd find her. Later on in the night she was supposed to come to my 'hood, but the cell phone fritz messed with that too. Ahh well, I got a good amount of rest and reading done, talked with some nice out-of-towners on the bus, and got a little 60-degree weather in my bones.

On Sunday I found myself up and at 'em at 8:45. I took advantage of the hour and got all of my clothes washed. I listed everything I own of value on Amazon (three sales since the listings), and I got stuff together on eBay. I'll have to make the big announcement when my big ol' lot of clothes goes online so anyone of you who are a size small can take advantage. And when you find cat hair on the clothes, despite the washing I'll give everything before it goes in the box, you'll at least know where those hairs came from. (I have a bid on my formatted floppy disks but nothing else yet. Argh.)

With the morning already gone, I spent the afternoon grocery shopping. I walked from my place to the really cheap fruit and vegetable store (about a mile and a half) and was in some serious need of some Band-Aids. This being my first wearing of my sandals for the season, I rubbed myself some nasty blisters. I had to take the bus and an el home, but I had the rest of the day to pretend it was Thursday and sit on my ass.

I read and I read and I read. I finished the 600+ page Garp book earlier this week, all 272 pages of It Could Happen to You, and almost 400 pages of this book about these hippies who live on a farm and deliver babies. All of these pages, and somehow my eyes haven't fallen out yet.

I sat in my overstuffed chair with the sun shining on me and the breeze blowing into the apartment, enjoying the weather in the comfort of my favorite chair. What a great day.

And today! Goodness! What a great day again!

I didn't get up as early as I had liked. I had to wait for three els to go by before I forced myself onto that next one. I had to walk at an angle to avoid falling over from the wind... But I'll take 65 degree weather anytime!

And just like that, with a single mouse-click, I will single handedly cancel springtime for all of Chicago. Are you ready?

I just canceled my monthly pass for public transportation.

Voila! No more nice weather.

Sorry.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com