CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

New Hobby, George, and Dentists

2006-04-04� � 5:55 p.m.
Last night I went to my first boxing lesson. I signed up from now until the middle of June, and that should be plenty of time for me to get used to what�s going on and maybe even step into the ring. I�m attempting to be a tougher Jo since I really do feel like such a wiener lately.

Everyone there is pretty hardcore. They jump rope quickly. They hit the big, heavy bags quickly. They do the speed bag quickly. Etc., etc., etc. It�s kinda intimidating, but I have to remember that I have to start somewhere. I might as well start here and see how it goes.

Now that I have the opportunity to do this four nights a week, I really have to start getting up in the mornings to go run. There�s no way I�ll be able to do both without changing my schedule.

On the upside, I�ll be one lean, mean fighting machine. And, yes, I�m taking that off the George Foreman grill commercials...

He was the heavyweight champion of the world, and he�s best known for that damn grill. I would have some sympathy for him, but I�ve seen his house.

No sympathy for you, George! None!

Speaking of not getting sympathy, I went to the dentist today on my shiny new insurance.

Talk about a sham!

I don�t floss.

Two nights a week I don�t brush my teeth before bed because I get drunk, stumble home, and pass out.

I don�t go for regular cleanings.

Of course I say that I�m the model tooth-taker-carer. And each and every time a dentist has stuck his or her hand into my mouth, I get the same comments about me doing things well.

Dentists, I�m onto you.

Another sham is dental insurance. I have a fake tooth, front and center. I�ve had this fake tooth for half of my life. Seeing that it�s been in there for so long, my gums are awfully angry that there�s metal and porcelain up against it.

However, despite the gum being angry, the tooth appearing significantly smaller than the one right next to it, and it being there for ages, unless it�s showing signs of decay, insurance won�t pitch in to get a new tooth.

I�m going to have to get my gums cut by a surgeon because they�re in such bad shape right now, pay for the new tooth itself, and pay for a temporary tooth while the new, real one is being made.

After the sticker price on that, I was told that to make sure my two front teeth matched, I should shell out another grand to get a matching veneer on the tooth next to it.

I need a dentist who is crooked enough to tell the insurance company that there�s decay galore, not one who says that I do a great job with the nonexistent flossing and suggests I pay another grand to match up my teeth.

Of course, if this whole boxing thing works out, I just might have grounds for the dentist to tell the insurance company that I need a new tooth.

Now we�re talking. Now we�re talking.

Happy Tuesday all. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com