CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Working from Home is Glorious

2008-02-13� � 3:03 p.m.
It�s been over two weeks since I�ve shown my face in the office. No trudging through slush and sleet to get there. No waking up early to put on clothes. No arriving at a certain time to make an early-morning conference call. No, no, no!

I�m hoping that they eventually forget that I work there, stop assigning me work, and just keep sending the paychecks. That would be all sorts of kickassery.

My days have been a little off-kilter due to not going into the office. If I were a man, I�d have a beard reaching mountain man proportions. Alas, my gender instead allows me a really clean house, all of my laundry done, and freshly-dyed red hair.

Hambone loves this arrangement like you�d imagine any heat-seeking small mammal would. There�s a warm lap to nap on, someone to annoy for food, and the ever-pleasing pet-on-demand feature.

One coworker did manage to remember that I am still employed there, and she sent me the following while asking if that�s how I was spending my days:

And for reference, that guy works in another department at White Men in Ties, Inc.

Yesterday was an especially odd work-from-home day. I wasn�t feeling so hot that morning, so I took a Benadryl after my 8:30 conference call, and went to lie down. I turned off the alarm I set for 30 minutes later and slept until 2 p.m.

Now, before any coworker who might be reading this gets on my case, please realize that I will be working most of my Saturday and Sunday to make up the hours or turning them in as burned vacation time. I may joke about hoping that everyone forgets me so I can collect paychecks on the sly, but I�m actually not a thief. Also, do note that I am uploading content into the repository as I type this. I have time stamps to back me up. So there.

Anyway, today�s been nothing but uploading crap to some web page. And although that sounds like oh-so-much excitement, trust me when I say it�s not.

That being said, I should wrap this up. For a blog entry that�s been delayed for a couple weeks, this is really lame.

Also, be on the lookout for some changes around here. Once I get a blog entry worth posting, I'll make everything all snappy. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com