CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

I Tried to be White Trash, But it Didn't Work

2004-07-23� � 2:32 p.m.
Yesterday I got a letter from social security saying that I�ve finally worked enough years to qualify to receive benefits should I need them. I get this cute little amount that hardly covers my mortgage (without bills) based off my working years. And seeing that in three of those years I was in college and only made $2000, four of those were while working part of the year (damn contracts getting cancelled), and one was while working an entire year for a crappy wage because I knew that�s all I could get in the tech downfall.

They listed the amount they expected me to continue making for the rest of my life, and it�s roughly half my current salary because of the events above. Rather cute. However, this year will likely help me out in getting an SSI payment amount that would actually, ya know, pay for stuff.

This, my friends, is because I got my contract extended at the Big Ol� Republican Company.

Whoot!

So while camping this weekend, there�s going to be much merriment.

Remember that I went to buy white trash clothes for the weekend? Well, that didn�t exactly work out as planned. I apparently don�t do white trash very well. The wife beaters are actually v-neck, nicely fitted, cutesy tanks in pretty colors. And I�m okay with this.

I don�t have cut-offs. I don�t have junky t-shirts. I don�t have flip-flops. (The Old Navy flip-flops aren�t gonna work. No likey.) Shit, even 7-11 didn�t have crappy beer, forcing me to get the same-ol�, same-ol� Miller Lite. I at least got it in a can instead of bottles.

I�m going to show JoeCartoon that one can indeed do the river without the requisite trashiness.

Speaking of trashiness, this is an excerpt from a phone call I had yesterday:

�Were my girlfriends fighting last night?�

�Yep.�

�You tell them to knock it off, or I�ll have to come slap those bitches!�

My dad is a king of comedy.

Oh yes. I keep forgetting to mention this.

Two days ago a bird ran into my head. I kid you not, this pigeon was coming in for a landing, and I was apparently in his way. He smacked into the top of my head and then continued with his decent.

So if I start losing my hair and dementia sets in, you guys know what to tell the hospital.

Last night was rather unfortunately a mostly-sleepless night since I didn�t get to sleep until after 4. I really just couldn�t go to sleep, so sheared the wool from my legs, wrote a letter to a friend, and starting reading a book Benito gave me.

The book�s on adding emotion to the videogames you create. I actually learned a lot in just the few sections I read. I�m making notes as I go so I don�t forget anything.

There�s some neat theory in there on how to add depth to a non-playing character (a character that you don�t control but who adds something to the story), and I�m trying to think of things applicable to his current project that follow these theories. They�re admittedly lame-brain ideas so far, but I�m at least able to take the theory I just read about and apply it to an incomplete project that I know a good amount about. Fantastico for me getting my learning on!

The book goes over 32 ways to add emotion to a game, and I�ve made it through just the first one. This should keep me busy for a little while.

In completely unrelated news, I think someone sprinkled itching and burning powder on my at-work fleece. (That�s a fleece that I wear because the building is so damn cold. I�d normally just wear more clothes, but it�s hot outside, mokay?)

Yesterday my right hand went nuts with this ferocious burn that made me itch intensely. And just now I put on the fleece, and now my left hand is burning similarly.

I�ll fill you in when I solve this mystery. Something tells me that possible clues include Tide with color-safe bleach, hot water, and a spin cycle.

Just a hunch.

Until then, you guys have a good one.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com