CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

A Racing Heart, and a Racing Case of the Herp

2005-08-05� � 4:58 p.m.
That last entry was such a cop-out. I can�t really make up for it, but I can just tell you what�s been going on here.

The last time I wrote was a weekend catch-up entry. Wow. It�s been a while.

This week has moved pretty slowly. My heart rate has been a bit nutty between my runs, so I�ve been taking it easy -- despite having a half marathon this Sunday that I could use some prep for.

My good friend and race-pacing buddy Oz has a busted knee that might not be ready for Sunday, so I may be on my own. We�ll see... I�m a big kid. I ran last week�s race just fine without him telling me to keep it moving. I just need to imagine that he�s telling me to knock off the whining about walking and let inertia move my lead legs.

I really and truly can�t remember what else has gone on this week. I know I�ve watched a good amount of NetFlix. I only have 18 more movies in my queue, and I�m trying to burn through them. I�d like to be finished with this service by the end of September. I�m tired of watching movies, but I know that I�m done for a good, long while before in the very near future.

Tonight�s flick: About a Boy, starring Hugh Grant.

The book was good, and I hear the movie is too. Benito is working late before we go out to play darts and drink a couple beers, so I�ll finish that movie post-workout, pre-Benito.

Mmmm, beer and darts.

Mmmm, Benito.

In other news, I have a stupid friggin� growth on the side of my mouth.

On Monday I took it easy, spending the night with a little dum-dum (a.k.a. Law and Order on TNT). The side of my mouth started peeling, so I slathered some Neosporin on it.

If you�ve never gotten Neosporin in your mouth, I suggest that you don�t. It tastes really bad.

I went to bed that night, assuming that my mouth would heal itself under the layer of antibiotic goodness.

The next morning I discovered that I was apparently I was fighting a virus, not bacteria, so Neosporin did no good to prevent the cold sore from popping up the next morning.

It�s so gross, and Abreva isn�t doing shit.

F-U Abreva! F your $18 price tag, and F your promises of a fast cure!

Oh crap. It�s 5. I�m not staying a minute longer. Good night, all. Think happy thoughts about my herpes disappearing and my legs not falling off when I run Sunday�s half marathon.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com