CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

Am I Tough Enough?

2003-05-08� � 1:07 a.m.
After the train ride to the ghetto the other day, I decided that there has to be something I can so to look tougher. When I found myself in a suburbs strip mall, checking if the Old Navy or GAP carried maternity clothes, I noticed a Claire�s.

Dangling bracelets with purple butterfly charms? Definitely not tough.

J-Lo sunglasses. Oh-so-trendy, but not tough enough.

But a piercing... That has some element of danger and adventure to it. I may not wear black leather and a spiked collar, but putting up with pain in the name of a rad piercing may add some legitimacy to my toughness.

So which piercing would best convey that I�m edgy yet still make me appear hip?

I once toyed with the idea of a navel ring, all cute and dangly, showing up my tight little belly. But my friend Becky nixed that one, saying, �Don�t you dare!� Also, if Britney Spears has one, it�s definitely not tough.

When NS had the idea that she wanted a hole punched through her, she got the top of her ear punctured. I�ve noticed several people with this one done. But after hers scabbed up and turned red and painful, I nixed that thought.

Tongue? Dough way tould I do dat one... No matter how temporary the Daffy Duck talk would be.

No eyebrow. No lip. No bull ring. No unmentionables.

But a nose piercing. A cute, little stud...

Now we�re onto something!

Those of you who know me know that there�s no way I�m getting a hole stabbed that close to my brain. So, for $3 I now have a magnetic nose ring to make me tough enough for the Green Line el.�



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com