CCCC

T h e A d v e n t u r e s o f C h i c a g o J o

first entry profileemailguestbookringsolder entries

The Current Job Situation

2003-06-07� � 3:18 p.m.
I am the interview queen.

I�ve dutifully sent out my resume, and the new fiscal year has resulted in several recent inquiries. Allow me to briefly review the interviews I�ve taken part in this week.


Company #1 Creates testing solutions: Test development, content management, delivery kiosks, support services, and testing locations. A completely acceptable 25 minute commute by el.

Bad News: The company website indicates that there were several recent structural changes in recent months. I do not want to come on, only to be laid off in 6 months. Gone are the days of padded severance packages.

Good news: The gained an exclusive contract with a very large state agency that tests thousands each month.

Bad news: As one interviewer put it, �This position could be the work of three people.�

Good news: Although he said that everyone there knows this and no one would be too hard on me, it doesn�t pay for the work of three. I�ve requested the pay of 1.5 as a compromise.

Bad news: The position was put on hold. See the first bad news-good news bullet for my concerns.

Good news: They called me back as soon as they got things back on track.

Summary: The interviews went well. After my initial HR phone conversation, I met four people within the office. Everyone seemed friendly and like people I would want to work with. The job tasks sound mostly interesting, and I can�t deny that a fast-paced environment isn�t sometimes exciting. But does such a pace mean that taking of early on a Friday is impossible? That vacation isn�t a reality? That I�ll eventually feel the effects of excessive stress?

In addition to my in-person interviews almost a month ago, I did a phone interview with the marketing director in Philly. An hour later the hiring manager called to say that I was selected for the final round: a conversation with the VP of something-or-other.

I�m 85% confident that they�ll offer me the position.


Company #2 Creates, um, testing solutions. All of that other stuff except testing locations. Apparently this is a more popular field than I could have imagined. Located in downtown -- only eleven blocks away. A bus would drop my one block away on rainy days.

Good news: It�s business casual, so I won�t have to recycle my only suit day-in and day-out. When you go commando, there�s no clothes recycling. It�s a rule. A very important rule.

Good news: They were recently acquired by a large, international company. All shifting of responsibility has already taken place, and they�re now hiring in multiple departments to fill in the business gaps.

Good news: The company offers a large sum for tuition reimbursement. PhD in organizational communication and an MBA-level business certification, here I come!

Good news: There are benefits out the wazoo, including pre-tax spending on CTA! 30% savings on el rides! Woo-hoo!

Good news: The people I�ve met with are all rock and roll-caliber folk.

Bad news: It�s more marketing-related than I�d want...

Good news: ...but because it�s with a large company, I can transfer when something else opens and I�m ready to make a move.

Summary: All interviews went well, and everyone seemed like someone I�d work well with and would want to actually be friends with. This seems like a solid company, and the tasks could prove interesting. They pay only slightly less than Company #1 when the education reimbursement is taken into consideration, but the slower work environment makes up for any differences.

I feel 80% confident that I�ll get this position.


Side note: I interviewed with four men at Company #1 and four women at Company #2. I don�t have anything to really add to that statement. It�s just an observation.


Company #3 It�s a large and old law firm looking for someone to start up a corporate communications department. I�d be in charge of coming up with new and creative ways to get the company name out. Located in downtown.

Good news: The pay is in my range, includes benefits (no the tuition reimbursement though) and reduced-price on CTA rides, and has a potential to increase significantly once I make a case that I�m effective and getting the name out there.

Good news: I�d essentially be my own boss.

Good news: I wouldn�t fire myself if I did any slacking.

Good news: Similar to Uncle Bob�s job situation, I�d have to -- oh goodness no! -- schmooze and be able to talk with people throughout the community. [smirk]

Bad news: Lawyers work at law firms.

Good news: Lawyers always know how to party, and they don�t mind picking up the hefty tab and writing it off.

Bad news: I may have to get use to drinking scotch.

Good news: I can always order an extra-dirty martini without ridicule.

Good news: Alcoholics can�t look down on social drinkers.

Summary: This sounds like an interesting job where I�ll get to try out new and creative ways of promoting the firm. The extravert in me will enjoy fostering relationships throughout the community, and there�s something quite appealing about being your own boss.

My confidence rate is 85% that I will be offered this position.


Let the guestbook know your thoughts on my job situation. �



Miss something?

Moving Day - 2008-02-15
Working from Home is Glorious - 2008-02-13
Speaking in Tongues - 2008-02-07
I Have My Reasons - 2008-01-25
Got an Itch, Fix it, Shine it Up, Sing it Out - 2008-01-23

back one -- forward one

get notified when I update:
email:

hosted by DiaryLand.com